Committed single...
…and it started four years back.
I was 16…not stale enough to get entangled into all this. But god had some goddamn plans for me.
I agree that no one in this ‘big daddy’s land’ escapes the cupid’s shot but it I never thought of being sniped so early.
On some blessed day I unribboned the most ravishing gift of heavens…
Yes, it was love…true love…
Yes, it was her…
At the first encounter, I realized that my scour is over. She is the one I have waited all my life.
Yes, she is the one.
For the first time reality seemed more exquisite than fantasy.
Her pretty face flickered with every flick of my eyes; her mellifluous voice rang all my bells, her very thought held my breath as it does even today.
But I was a kid then…
I spurned the gift considering it to be a crush…
I didn’t try to woo her…I didn’t express what I felt for her…I was smug getting her glimpse every day, getting to hear her diurnally, I didn’t perceive her significance then…
The day I met her at the IIT-JEE centre, I realized that she won’t be a part of my chores now…the day I cried for the first time…the day I twigged that I love her…
The schedules were very busy then with many exams on the trot. To follow were the upshots of all the messes I did in the exams.
Through all these days I missed her a lot and somehow conjured up the courage to express what I felt for her…
I planned to tell her once I get through IIT.
But as I wrote in the very first line…god’s plan for me was ‘goddamn’
I was literally mowed down by the fact of her having committed to someone else just a few days back...
In the next scene, I saw myself in murk…lying headlong on a bed doused in the torrent of my tears.
Everything seemed dismal, somber…
Tears continuously oozed out of my eyes…
For the first time I sensed the pangs of the cupid’s arrow…
But, time being the biggest teacher, taught me that I should be happy because she is…because love is not about gaining but is about losing yourself in the happiness of the counterpart…
It has been four years now…but there is something which still prods me whenever I edit my orkut profile…
…there is something which still makes me wonder why they don’t have a ‘committed single’ relationship status option…
No comments:
Post a Comment